Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Maintenance on chains and sprockets

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by Wet crutch, Aug 22, 2006.

1. Hi all,

I'm really new to all this stuff that happens under the seat. I'm looking for some sagely advice. Remember CB250 when reading on.

My Chain is hanging low. It has been on the bike for 6000km and I have tightened it three times. To tighten it again I may need to extend the swing arms so I guess I need a new chain. When do I replace the sprockets? There is no obvious sign of wear on the back sprocket. The last time I tighten the chain there was no “wiggle” on the back sprocket when I tried to pull the chain away toward the back of the bike. Am I looking at the correct indicators? Is this a typical

My chain is a mess. I used to spray some lubricant on the chain every 1000 km. The chain picked up some really nasty road gunk and is pretty black and chunky on the outsides. I commute to work a massive 13km each way. Should I expect my chain to last longer or is this about right? What should I do with a new chain to extend the life?

What can happen if I leave the chain hanging too long without proper maintenance?

2. You should be oiling the chain every 500Km and doing a proper clean every 1000km. By proper I mean using a paint brush and kerosene to remove all the accumulated crap on the chain. The other option is some chain cleaner which works wonders but is $20 a can.

Your chain (depending on what your manual says) should have between 2.5cm and 3.5cm movement in it at the loosest point. That should be at the tightest point on the chain. Rotate the wheel as you are tightening and you will see that it stretches irregularly.