Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Luring Mrs Hornet

Discussion in 'Touring' at netrider.net.au started by hornet, Jul 11, 2016.

1. Get your minds out if the gutter, you lot, I'm taking about back to riding, or more specifically, pillioning. A bit of background....
    Back in the seventies when I started riding we bought a Yamaha 250 for her to ride too. For a few years we went everywhere, but then she fell pregnant, had our daughter, we sold the bike and her gear and she let her licence lapse.
    Fast forward to today, she's not even tried getting on the back of the VFR, but just today said she might be interested in traveling by bike again, obviously on a more suitable bike. I got to thinking BMW, but the alphabet soup of models and designations defeats me.
    So, let's say a budget of $6,000 approx, and the fact that she's a bit more generously proportioned than forty years ago, what do you knowledgeable Netriders recommend?????

• Like Like x 4
    • Winner Winner x 1
  2. How exciting! :woot:(y)(y)(y)(y)(y)

• Agree Agree x 5
  3. I'm not particularly knowledgeable so there's that as a qualifier - others may be able to point out known flaws or downsides in the following models.

If you're thinking of BMW for around the $6,000-mark, what about the R1150R?

Or a Suzuki DL1000 V-Strom?

4. Probably would want something a bit more tour-ey if you know what I mean, but thanks for the suggestion :)