Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Love school Holidays!

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by krabi, Sep 30, 2008.

1. So, went to my work (a school in Maitland, I'm a teacher) to do some work, it also happens to be school holidays. Decided, what the F#%$ am I doing here so went for a ride out to Broke and Wollombi. Now I had no intention of going out that far, but I was following a guy on a Sprint and just outside of Cessnock, he waved me to get beside him at the traffic lights. He wanted to know how to get to Broke. So, I said follow me, seemed an easier option than explaining it. As soon as we turned on to Broke Rd he could see the signs and took off, talk about getting bike envy.
    Anyhow, I decided what the hey and went to Broke and then across to Wollombi. Lovely day, and lovely ride.
    Now, two things were reinforced on this ride. Where you look is where your bike goes, going around some bends a number of cars were cutting the corners. So as I was going around the bend I kept my eye on the car, funny enough I started to drift into their lane. It is really hard not to look though, got to work on this.
    Secondly, watch for wildlife! I ran over a red belly black snake. I felt really bad about that! It was sunbaking on the road!
    Anyhow, thought I'd rub it in that I went on an impromptu ride in the Hunter Valley on a lovely day \:D/

2. I'm a teacher too. I also went to work today but I didn't go riding instead cause unfortunately there was work to be done. :(