Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Looking for basic maintenance skills

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' at netrider.net.au started by Kellieeclipse, Mar 2, 2014.

1. Hi! I am new to the world of biking after watching from way too long from afar. My biggest problem is ( well one of many ;)) that I have no one to learn the basics of how to maintain my bike from. I am wiling to work/ pay for a bit of help- happy to attend track days, dirt or road or whatever and get my hands dirty. I am on Brisbane south side but will
    Travel. I have a dual
    Sport drz 250

2. Can't help you bc I'm in Vic, plus I wouldn't know anyway, but maybe there's a bike shop up there that runs courses? 60 Degress in Vic runs a basic maintenance course.

In the meantime, there's a lot of stuff on YouTube too.

3. I will have a look. A basic maintenance course would be great!

4. Kellie I'd be happy to help but I'm a little too far away and I'm sure that one of the gold coast or brissy members will assist you once they see this thread.
    If you get stuck though let me know.

5. Thanks! I will keep you in mind if I get stuck :). I saw a
    Tafe course but it was $1000! Ouch.

6. Perhaps you can open Kellies motorcycle emporium after passing that course and claim it on business expenses. Lol

• Funny Funny x 2
  7. If you can come up to caboolture one weekend I can take you through some servicing.

8. What do you consider to be "basics of how to maintain [your] bike"? Do you mean the simple stuff that everyone should be doing in between services, or are you looking to get a little more greasy?

Also, are you taking that dual sport off the road? (There are a few things you have to pay more attention to if you do)

9. Pickup a workshop manual, and some basic tools