Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Looking at a Laro today - what to check?

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by TYSE LEE, Sep 29, 2015.

1. Decided against spending 10k on a Yammy (unfortunately) for my first bike but having a look at a 2012 Laro Prostreet 350. 5000kms $2500 with RWC - apparently in perfect condition.

As a complete noob, what should I keep an eye out for & if in gc worth the price?

Help would be massively appreciated!

2. Laro.......a chinese word meaning cheap and cheerful.

If you are mechanically inclined and good with regular fix its and maintenance, then the possibility of an economical and basic ride may await you.
    Won't set the world on fire with either performance or handling, but then at the price you probably not expecting that.
    They are chinese so I would expect plastics, nuts and bolts and metallurgy to be, uhmmm, budget conscious ( poor quality ).
    Reviews seem to have an each way bet, though none claim any longevity.
    Laro Pro Street 350 Reviews - ProductReview.com.au

Is it worth the price ?
    If it was me I would be saving a bit more and getting a 2nd hand Ninja 250/300 or one of the jap naked 250 - 650 lams bikes.
    Easily found from about 3-3.5K on.

....no matter how hard you try, sitting on a laro will not make you look like an accountant with too much money.

• Agree Agree x 2
  3. Thanks Mike! All valid points.

What do you think would be a worst case scenario of needing replacing & the approx cost?

I'm happy to keep low cost issues maintained as I do prefer the aesthetics of the bike more than others in the same category - however I have no idea how much a new gearbox or anything else would cost if needed.