Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Long distance riding

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by Mychandyl, Jan 31, 2016.

1. I'm a relative newbie to riding and it's taken over my life! I started riding two years ago on a Hyosung cruiser 250, upsized to a Honda NC 700 six months ago, and in that time I've covered 37,000 kms. I suppose what I'm lacking in longevity I've made up for in riding hours. I commute daily and ride for hours on the weekends.
    I've joined Netrider as I would like some advice from what appears to be a great riding community. In a months time I'm riding solo from Melbourne to Sydney. Staying a few days there and then riding on to the Blue mountains for a couple of nights. I'd like to hear from anyone who has done those trips in particular or has useful tips for riding long distances such as these. I'm travelling by the coastal route on the way up so will split the ride up over several days allowing for weather conditions. Travelling inland on the way home.
    One thing I'd like to know is the road condition through the Blue Mountains. As I'm planning this trip in advance I have to consider the fact that it might be pouring with rain. I'd prefer it not to be but Mother Nature isn't going to take my preferences in to account unfortunately. :confused:

• Like Like x 1