Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Long Distance 250

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Kezza, Jul 15, 2006.

1. Hey everyone I've just moved to Byron and want a bike to commute between here and home (Toowoomba) which is about a 3hr drive each way every few weekends. As I am new to road bikes I will be riding a 250 and would like to know first what type of bike would suit my situation.

I require some direction as I am tossing up between a cruiser, trail bike, and a sports bike. The main thing I want in the bike is comfort and economy. Being a bigger build (6ft5 110kg) I am a bit worried about some of the smaller sports bikes being an issue with comfort.

So far I would think (correct me if I am wrong) a cruiser would have the best fuel economy due to the other two being tuned for high performance applications. As far as my research goes though i would be spending around $5-6k on a v25 custom that I would probably get bored of as soon as I get my opens.

A trail bike (like a wr250f) I am thinking wouldn't be too bad on long distance runs having the ability to sit or stand and move around on the bike a bit. However how does the fuel consumption compare to cruisers and sports bikes? The main think I like about purchasing a dirt bike is obviously I would be able to do some off-road and that I would probably keep it after obtaining my opens.

As for a sports bike I've sat on a couple of my mates bikes and they were relatively small (couldn't remember what they were). Are their any bigger 250s that might suit me?

Anyway I'm sorta just throwing out some ideas at the moment, if any of you have feedback I would greatly appreciate it. I'll keep looking around in the meantime.