Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Listening to music while riding

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by davison, Sep 1, 2007.

1. Hey guys,
    I havent gotten a bike yet, let alone my licence.. ive booked them in for next week and very excited.

One thing i was curious about is whether people listen to music while riding.. with an ipod for example. Or is this generally too distracting.
    Cheers

2. you may have already done a [​IMG] Search for the many previous topics on the subject.

if so,
    you will get better results if you [​IMG] Search for; music while riding
    and select the option (x) Search for all terms

3. i'm still learning all the basic's so i'm trying to keep away from listening to music, but i know alot of people that play there ipods on random shuffle while cruzing around, though if it plays a shit song you stuck with it lol

4. I ride with music all the time, it is distracting if you have it too loud I believe. What I do is keep it at a volume that I can only hear when im stopped, or going really slow

5. I don't. I like being in the bike environment and the growl that goes with it :)

Plus instructors always say biking is a very audible thing, listening to the revs to know when to change, hearing cars around you before you may see them etc.

6. In summary of all the previous threads on music while riding:

- Some people do, some people don't. To each their own.
    - Avoid it while getting to know the bike, listening to the bike helps a lot.