Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

VIC Letter from Vic Police - Motorcycle Thefts in Melbourne

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' at netrider.net.au started by Endo C, Jul 1, 2015.

1. #1 Endo C, Jul 1, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 1, 2015
    Just got this email today. Another reminder to be careful where and how you park as I'm sure most know, thieves are now just lifting bikes off the ground and throwing them into the back of vans. The link has decent but well known information, and I apologise in advance if this information is old.

Greetings,

My name is Glenn McFarlane and I am a Crime Prevention Officer with Victoria Police in Melbourne.

I have been designated by my divisional management command to raise awareness of an increase in motorcycle thefts in Melbourne.

These thefts are occurring on the street, in residential apartment car parks, business building car parks and commercial car parks.

A common trend is for offenders to use a van or a sedan with a trailer attached.

The offenders drive up to the motorcycle, lift it up, put it in the van or trailer and drive off negating most common security measures.

In conjunction with the National Motor Vehicle Theft Reduction Council, we have updated the content of their motorcycle theft reduction brochure titled ‘Wish You’d Secured Your Motorcycle’ which is accessible on at ‘
    www.protectyourbike.com.au ‘.

We request that you disseminate this information and the above brochure with the motorcycle safety tips and theft facts to your members.

Glenn McFarlane | Leading Senior Constable 26493
    Crime Prevention Officer | Melbourne & YarraNorth West Metro Region Division One

• Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1