Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Lets talk about fat guy pants.

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by scandyflick, Mar 25, 2015.

1. First off, apologies if I've posted this in the wrong section. It's my first day. /Homer Simpson.

Now, onwards;

Looking for some advice and guidance regarding textile riding pants from gentlemen of the longer legged and larger waisted build.

I'm new to riding, and went shopping for gear today (gear before bike, makes sense to me), and I'm leaning towards Dririder, their fit is excellent, especially in the jackets, I found the RST's to be too short in the torso, and the Alpinestars... well, they're lovely, but made for people of a much smaller build than I.

So now onto the topic at hand, RST apparently don't make any pants above 2XL, and I find myself fitting comfortably in a Dririder Nordic 5XL.
    My real problem here is the paints themselves fit fine, the leg is long enough, the waist is comfortable, thighs are accommodating (there's and excellent pick up line if ever I've heard one), but the knee pads sit way too low, even in a riding position, the top of the plate sits in about the middle of my knee.
    And they're not adjustable.
    The salesman seemed a bit stumped, and wasn't really able to provide much in the way of guidance towards Dririder pants with adjustable knee armour.

So after that novella, any advice from the larger rider among us? I'm quite keen to keep leaning towards Dririder (again, the fit is excellent for the most part), but if I have to look elsewhere... Well, you know.

tl;dr, I want 5XL Dririder textile pants with adjustable knee armour.
  2. Wear individual knee pads.. Knox make good ones.