Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

let's get real about the future of electricty in Australia

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by ibast, Aug 8, 2008.

1. OK I need to rant.

To lay the cards on the table I have to let you know I work in the power industry. Despite this I consider myself a relatively green individual. I believe in global warming and the greenhouse effect and I think we are running out of oportunity to do something about it.

But we need to be realistic about it. Basically our 5 most populace states all need to install 1 large coal fired power station in the next few years and NSW needs to install 2. And that's even if we explore alternative energies such as solar, wind, geothermal etc and we maintian our existing plant (something that is not being done).

If we don't pursue those alternatives, you can double the number of stations mentioned above.

We are seriously a peak season or two away from experiencing brown-outs in this country. the problem is it take up to 10 years to build a coal fired power station.

See why I'm frustrated?

Then I read this article today:

Coal seam methane has virtually zero negative environmental impact, despite what this article is saying. In fact it has positive greenhouse effects in that it turn methane into CO2 which is less harmful to the environment. The truth is the the green group is really a handful of misinformed NIMBYs that live in the area.

don't get me wrong. Wollombi is one of a few special places in Australia (my family comes from the other side of the range), but extracting Methane from coal seems should have next to no effect on the area.

NSW should collectively tell this mob to "bite me" and get on with it.
  2. hmm, I'm confused.., the methane is in the ground?