Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Lending someone your bike for P's test

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by bebo3, Apr 7, 2013.

1. Hi there,

One of my mates is taking the P's test (mainly because his L's runs out soon) and he wants to borrow my 250. He doesnt have a bike of his own, and has probably ridden only a few other times.

Curious to know how many people do this, and if you think it's ok if he hasn't ridden in some time.

Im worried about both the bike and my friend's safety, as I'm not quite sure what level he is at, and I was hoping to run him through the course at some point in the future to see where he is at. I have been riding for about 5 years now.

2. Most providers have bikes to hire.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. +1 to Fractalz. That would be my response. Of course it depends on how good a friend and if they could afford to replace the bike if damaged.
  4. A friend of mine and a member here have me free reign of his bike for practice and the test. Ended up not using it in the test for some reason and hired one from the centre instead. Was in same boat. Didn't have a ridable bike and hadn't ridden in several months. Was one of two to pass with no points accrued.
  5. I wouldn't in this circumstance.
    Insurance - is he covered?
    Even if he is covered (assuming you have insurance) then there might be a huge excess if anything happens. If he can't afford or is too stingy to hire a Bike then he might not meet that excess if anything happens. The hire bikes usually have big bars on them for a reason.
    In this case he might be better off doing his L's again - cheaper, gets back to basics and gets some experience and then he has time to get some ride hours up if he is serious about riding.