Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Leaving the bikes for a little while. :-(

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by BalmyBrowny, Sep 22, 2009.

1. Just wanted to say thanks to netrider for your wealth of information, great entertainment and allowing me to meet many other enthusiasts :)

I have just said goodbye to my gixxer (bumblebee) on Tuesday last week. Couldn't post eralier as my internet was throttled and really struggled trying to sign in or anything. After getting my job with a work ute, i found i wasn't riding the bike very often at all... was my commuter and toy. I was a chef for 10 years, so didn't really get to have a family life with my kids (5 and 18mths) and since changing jobs, i've found it hard to go out on the bike on weekends instead of doing family things. therein making the bike an expensive hoby that wasn't getting much time.

Was a hrad decision to sell my baby. But was made easier knowing that i'll be back on a bike in the next few years when the kids grow up a bit and its easier to get away more often :) That and i'll be able to afford it better as a hobby.

I will still be around reading on here, as i still love bikes and all things to do with them :)

2. Mate,
    I'm not in your position yet however I know I will be, one day...so already I can understand your situation.
    Here's hoping we see you back on a bike sooner than later.
    All the best mate,
  3. Good on you, Browny - much as I love bikes, you're making the right decision. The kids are only young once, and you really don't want to miss that.

I took about 10 years off, I think, or maybe 15, while my two were little, and have come back to enjoy riding again... and now they're teenagers and keen to get their own bike licenses and ride with me.