Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Learning to Dirt Bike

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by TheMav, Jan 14, 2014.

1. I've been riding (street riding) for about 18 months but have been driving for much longer. I want to learn a bit about off-road riding (not looking to compete or become proficient at it) but I only have a road bike being my GT650 Comet. What's the best way of going about this without blowing a huge hole in your wallet?

Should I just hire a bike and some gear then go to a dirt track? Or pay for one or two offroad lessons?

Where are some dirt tracks in or near Sydney?

Can anyone recommend some service providers to teach and lend the bike/gear? I haven't been able to find one that does both.

2. DIrt is very different to street, so unless you have access to a dirt bike, or plan to buy one, I'm not sure why you want to learn. I've seen Stay Upright advertising an off road course and heard that it's pretty good. I've ridden road and dirt over the past few years and recently sold my trail bike as I'm now more interested in road. Used to go trail biking with the nephews, but when they lost interest, so did I. You can google some off road tracks, there's one at Appin just outside Campbelltown, another called Pacific Park up at South Maroota, and there are a few more around the place, One near Nowra. DIrt is cerainly fun, lots of fun with a few mates, but you really need your own bike in my opinion.
  3. #3 Zim, Jan 14, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2014