Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Learning on trials

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by josh_1988, Oct 3, 2007.

1. hey im pretty new to the fourms and im lookin at gettin a road bike, my dad is helpin me out a bit and for the past year and a bit he brought me a trials bike to ride on for a bit of practise, heard of lots of good riders always riding trails to hone their skills and just wondering if anyone else on here rides trials? i have a sherco 250 if anyone is interested

2. That's a great way to learn to throw a bike around, although it won't give you a lot of practical experience for road riding.

Who cares, though, it's great fun!

Trevor G

PS Are you doing proper trials-type riding, or just muck around?
  3. oh yeh, thrown that thing around ALOT within the first 4 months of ridin i broke alot on that bike, but its good because with all the crashes i had on it all where low speed so just from that ive already laid a motorbike down, fliped it, stuck open throttles lol and that willl help a bit, in the l's course the trainer said i had great slow speed balance from ridin trails and good use and confidence with the brakes and stuff, i wasnt never gettin on the first road bike at all.

no i just muck around with my old man theres no where to ride proper trials around my area... think wollongong might be closest
  4. you keep talking about trials and trails - is this a spelling mistake or are you riding a trials bike on a trail?

As said earlier, a trials background ain't going to be much use for the road. Learning to control a bike on a dirt road (trail) on the other hand does have its benefits.
  5. no sorry tralis is just spelling error im using a mates comp and he has a sus keyboard