Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Learners test booked, but I still need some tips & help.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Wulfr, Mar 11, 2009.

Hey all,

Finally, I've booked my L's test for this Friday (8:15am - 5:00pm) Sandown park.

I'm a little nervous, as I'm unsure of what to expect.
    I've got a Few questions if you could all help me out:

I've Self taught myself to ride my bike, ZZR250, I've ridden for the past month around my court and street. (Will be using their bike though)

I seem to be changing to the second gear when I hit around 20kmph, and 3rd at around 40kmph, basically changing gears when I hear a certain point in the rev limit; Brrrr Rrrrrrr, Clutch and Shift up... then as I come to a stop, Clutch in, Shift down all the way down to first gear, while applying the breaks, mostly rear break, until I have come to a safe stop, Is this correct?

The bike moves and all, never stalls or anything....

Another question: I'm able to do full circles, left and right - Right is alot harder though, I can do it without putting my foot down, on most occasions, any tips?

No problems with doing full Left cornering, in my court "T" shaped court, any other tips I you can give me to use?

Always use my indicators, (I have a Full car drivers license now), and trying alot of the time to look in the mirrors on my bike; I've gotten fairly ok with this in the last week or so.

I've read the Learners handbook and viewed Ridetech's L's test http://ridetek.com.au/learningtesting.htm

I asked if I should do the $60 2 hr lesson first, but was told if I can get on the bike, start it, roll of, use the clutch, and use the breaks to come to a safe stop, I should be fine and to go for the L's test.

Question: Am I doing anything wrong guys?