Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Learner's bike. Starting from zero.

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by falcon9, Mar 1, 2015.

1. Hi guys, new here and what an awesome resource.

I'm doing the NSW Learner's training next week to get my Ls. My plan is to be in SE Asia and riding in July and I want at least 3-4 months of experience in riding safely and smartly to get familiar with what's going on before getting over there.
    Aside from the obvious comments of "What a ridiculous idea, the roads over there are nothing like here!" :p what can you tell me about a good LAMS bike to learn to be safe on? I'm pretty tall, 6'3" and light at 70 kg. I've plenty of experience on roads with traffic and bicycles, but I'm not kidding myself: I want to do this safely.

Right now I'm hearing a GPX250, zz-R250 or a VTR250.

Can you help to point me in the right direction?

2. Anything light and nimble will make a good learners bike, I prefer nakeds over sportsbikes, but that what I like your preference may be different.
    Have you thought about scooters?
  3. Hi there.

This one
    It's mine and for sale
    I am 6'4" and 90kg and it has taken me through my L's and red P plates, selling it due to the fact that I come off restrictions next month and am looking for some thing bigger.

I will be honest and tell you to sit on as many bikes as you can, go to some of the larger dealerships and throw your leg over some bike till you find one that fits.

Or buy mine at a 'special price' ;)
  4. Oh and by the way

Welcome to the forum!
  5. http://cycle-ergo.com/

vtr250 might be a bit cramped around the knees
    GPX/ZZR/Inazuma are not bad for taller riders. you have to sit on them to see how they feel.

what sort of bike will you ride overseas?