Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Learner without LAMS restriction... what to buy?

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by CrEsT, Sep 10, 2010.

1. So this is the story...

I've been riding a 50cc scooter for the last few months and I'm sick of how slow it is... so I decided to upgrade to a real bike.

On the other hand I am not limited to LAMS since I hold a full motorcycle licence from my home country and as an international student I'm not required by law to hold an Australian license, so I can ride anything I want (or can).

I'm looking for a sportish bike that will allow me to improve my skills and that will put a grin on my face from time to time. I will be riding to work and uni, mostly in the city and do not intent to commute long distances on it.

My stats: 5'11, 90kg, athletic build.

Bikes that I've considered but are out of the list

Aprilia RS125 - 2 stroke, service centre 1 hour from my home.
    Honda CRB125 - Looks like a push bike

I have my eyes set on the Yamaha YZF R125, but wanted to share this with you guys and maybe get a new idea.

What other bikes I should look at, taking into account my stats, commuting needs and that I'm a learner.

2. how much you looking to spend??
  3. Up to $8,000
  4. Buy an r1...

Nah just kidding. If you're sick of lack of power on the scooter you will get sick of a 250 pretty quick too. If you've been on the scooter for a few months and comfortable on the roads (dealing with traffic etc) then maybe consider a gs500? Depends how much you want to spend really, there are heaps of threads in this section that cover the whole selection of your options.

Good luck