Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Leaning a 250

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Mr Luke, Jan 15, 2009.

1. I've been riding for a few months now and I've clocked up a few thousand K's. I feel like I'm much more comfortable on the bike now and I also feel that I'm leaning it into corners more. Despite this, there is still say 1cm of unused virgin rubber/chicken strips on each side of my rear tyre. Is this normal for a 250?

I know as a general rule a bigger bike will be leaned over more. And I've also observed that bigger bikes do not have quite such a pronounced curve in the rear tyre as 250's do.

But in short, should I be leaning it over further, or more to the point, as I grow in confidence even more, will I find that I am using the whole rear tyre? Or is it normal for there to be some unused tread on a rear 250 tyre?
  2. Still being on my L's I take the motto " RIDE as you feel comfortable "

With only about 100ok's or so under my helmet, I still have a fear of leaning too much on certain corners, then I will come out of a corner and think - I could have leaned more and taken it a bit quicker. IT all comes from experience.

I still have heaps of chicken strips on my tyres LOL

Will be interesting to read more experience riders views
  3. Being new as well, I couldn't agree more.
  4. Depends on how and what you ride..

I ran out of both front and rear tyre on my VTR250, and I've run out of front and rear tyre on the Z750 as well. However, normally I've got 10mm or so of Kishy Strips ( :p ) because I don't normally feel the need to play that hard on the road. (I can be convinced otherwise easily though :wink: ).