Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

leaking fuel

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Jack_17, Sep 4, 2005.

1. i had my internet d.c - it is back on now, during this time i bought a 1992 zzr250 for $3000and i love it untill i went to go for my first ride and found fuel dripping :( from ze bike at about 1 drip per 3/4 sec. the bike is in top condition had alot done to it and the guy/wanker?? told me there no leaks etc. i am a noob and dont knowif this a common problem that can be fixed easily or if its more serious. Any help would be appreciated i realy want to go for a ride but am unsure if it will make it worse.

2. First ride? Did you fill the tank to the top before you left? If yes then probably the overflow and nothing at all to worry about.

Any other fuel dripping is a problem however so find the leak and fix it. Likely to be a dodgy hose, clamp or conection and can be easily fixed in two mins. Don't sweat about it. :D
  3. The leak could also be the result of the drain valve on one of the carbies being slightly open.
  4. theres half a tank so ill take the fairing of and have a good look
  5. If you don't feel confident removing the parts necessary to get the tank off, see if any N/R members live around your area and ask them for help. I'd tip that it's not a serious issue, just something loose, perished hose or something like that.
  6. not happy. bike is refusing to start :(
  7. Mmmm, shop time, methinks.
  8. maybe fuel is not going where its supposed to? i can see a leak from the thingy thats connected to the fuel reserve switch does that mean anything?
  9. Nothing that's connected to the tank should be leaking.