Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Late Learner Newbie

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' at netrider.net.au started by Lightsaber, Jan 22, 2012.

1. Hi Netriders

I'm from south west Sydney and, like many newbies, I've been lurking around these forums for quite a while, enjoying the reading and learning a fair bit. I finally joined just over 2 weeks' ago.

I'm, shall we say, of a more mature age (50) busy with work and a youngish growing family. Having never ridden before I started learning to ride less than a year ago. Circumstances haven't allowed me to do the km I would've liked though. Still, I hope to book into my pre-provisional/MOST in a few weeks. Much practicing to do in the meantime.

This whole wanting to ride thing began like an annoying itch I couldn't get rid of; so eventually I did the pre-learners, mainly to see if I could... and loved it! I have no idea why I didn't discover this sooner, especially as my brother's been a keen rider for over 20 years. It's also a refreshing change learning new skills that don't involve a keyboard and sitting in front of a monitor.

After much research, including a fair amount of it here, I pretty much decided on the CB400.

Still, to make doubly sure I could and that it wasn't all just a passing fad and an easily curable itch, I then did a half day post-learners course at HART St Ives. They were also good enough to let me use a CB400 instead of the usual 250 - so it was also kinda like a long test ride too. Needless to say, the HART session was great and that, and a supportive wife, was all the convincing I needed.

It wasn't too long after that I got a 2011 CB400 ABS, which is everything that you've read it is. Absolutely no regrets there! Other than Oggy knobs, it's stock as.