Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Larger girl textile jacket

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' at netrider.net.au started by missmakeupgrrl, Jun 23, 2008.

1. Hi all

Im a newbie, so treat me nicely :D

I've purchased a scooter, and I get my L's on Sunday. Im currently a sz 18-20, but im booking in for lapband sugrery on 8th of August (so hopefully not 18-20 for much longer) I need a cheap-ish jacket or something that can be bought in as I get smaller.

I've been to Peter Stevens, and all those bike shops on Elizabeth St. So far I can't find any ladies jackets to fit me. Apparently I can get a dry rider but I really object to the style. I have a Opal rjays coming in tomorrow, which I am not sure if it'll fit either.

Has anyone got any suggestions?

Ally

2. Hi Ally and welcome to Netrider. Ixon have some nice jackets in their men's range which really look unisex to me. Check 'em out. Have a look on e-bay too.

3. Another option is a nice leather jacket (not made specifically for a motorcycle). Some people would cry heretical at that advice, but I'm sure a good one would suffice. Depends also on whether you want armour (though if the jacket was roomy enough Mars Leathers could fit armour for $150). There are denim mc jackets around, or a Draggins Kevlar shirt (K-shirt) would do the job though might not be as convenient as a jacket which you can wip off.

Welcome to the forum and to two-wheels!

Matt

4. Hi Ally,

As a gent who lost 22 kg in the past year, I know how tempting it is to buy gear in your "ideal size."

However, there's no guarantee that the surgery will perform well, so I'd still suggest that you buy reasonable gear in your current size. Perhaps a textile jacket that has velcro straps on your waist.