Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Lane-splitting, Yay or nay?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by MYOMNOMS, Jul 21, 2011.

1. G'day all,

So I've been riding for a bit over 2 months now, and I dare say I've gotten somewhat decent at riding in traffic (I rode dirt for years, it's just getting used to traffic for me, but of course, I'm always learning ways to ride better).

I've never tried to lane split before but I just want to know from others if it's acceptable, and if so, what is the etiquette?

,Thanks for any help
  2. Fuk yay! Legal, not. Etiquette, dont hit anyone, including fellow motorcyclists that are also splitting.
  3. I'd be waiting a while yet: you need to be able to ride slowly, very precisely, and attend to things all around you at the same time, to split safely and successfully. Enough practice, some of it slowly around car parks, and work on using throttle, brake and clutch together for precise low speed control is good before you start.
  4. Yeah definitely illegal, But then again so is half the sh*t I do most days! :p
  5. Thanks for the tip! I can control my bike well at low speed, It was the first thing I did when I got it, Start slow and build up the speed sort of thing. But I agree with you, I need be able to ride slow and keep an eye on my surroundings, a skill I'm yet to master.
  6. Filtering through stationary traffic isn't in itself illegal. However there are a number of different rules they can book you for.

As for etiquette, as well as not hitting anyone, stay out of peoples way.
  7. Make sure you nod first.
  8. Make sure you don't hold up cars once it goes green.

I get cranky when seeing people filter to the front and then dawdle off.
    I'm looking at you Scooter riders.