Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

LAMS with ABS & traction control

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Mike Tranter, Oct 24, 2015.

1. Hello,

I was hoping someone could recommend a bike for me.

I have 5 criteria:

1. LAMS
    2. Both ABS and Traction Control
    3. Retro Style - purely a preference of mine
    4. Suitable for both cruising and commuting
    5. Preferably around 400c (for fuel efficiency)

Background: I am completely new to riding. I have been learning on a neighbours 400cc dirt bike until I get my learners in a month's time. I am riding purely for convenience, as I live 2 hours train ride to uni which could be done in 50 minutes on a bike (no car parking). Parents have offered to pay for a good bike to make sure I'm safe while riding, so price isn't a huge problem (although evidently nothing ridiculous, and cheaper is better).

I have done a fair bit of looking, but haven't found anything which matches what I am looking for. For frame of reference, something like the Moto Guzzi V7 II Stone is very close to perfect. Just isn't LAMS unfortunately.

Just a note, while a I appreciate any recommendation, the question isn't really about whether I NEED traction control and/or ABS.

Really appreciate the help,
  2. I can't think of one example of a retro LAMs bike with ABS. Not one...

CB400 is the only thing that comes close, but I'd hardly call it retro. Can get with ABS and being LAMS, also has traction control standard (TIC)
  3. I had actually looked quite a lot at the CB400, I quite like the look of it (even though its not retro). I asked about traction control, and the Honda rep I spoke to said there is no traction control on the CB400.