Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

LAMS unrestricted ?

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' started by kpun, Apr 25, 2011.

1. heyaa guys, i just wanna say first off that this site and the users have been amazing at giving both fast and informative info to any of the questions i had. BUT ANYWAYS BACK TO TOPIC; i was wondering which LAMS sport looking bikes could be unrestricted later on ? i read that even if you cant unrestrict it then you can just chuck in a different ECU to "upgrade" it ? (dont know what ECU is :/) Is that possible for all LAM bikes ? :-s ;im a newbie so be gentle :|

2. The Kawasaki ninja 650RL can be 100% derestricted in under 5 minutes. Remove a bolt from the throttle assembly that restricts the throttle to about 40% and take a plug off the diagnostic port under the seat. All done.
  3. Of course, I would only recommend doing this once you have the appropriate license.
  4. You probably wouldn't want to unrestrict a lams bike as lams bikes hold their value far more than non lams. Doing it legally could cost you well in to the thousands. Doing it otherwise well....no comment.

To answer your question all restricted lams bikes could be unrestricted in one way or another.

Not all lams bikes are restricted such as the cb400 or gs500 as they fall under the lams power to weight limit with the cb400 being right on the limit in it's natural guise.

Ducati are releasing a new lams bike specifically for the Australian market unrestricted which will also be right on the power to weight limit.
  5. Lams bikes hold their value quite well. You'd be better off buying something cheap to start with and wait out your restrictions then you can choose something you'd rather get once you're off your restrictions.