Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

LAMS sports tourer

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Epyx, May 31, 2008.

1. I've searched a lot but I can't find a good answer to this question.

The NSW LAMS list seems to contain a lot of old bikes, many of which don't appear to have made it into this country in any significant numbers.

I've been riding a 250cc for a few months now, and I would like to now ride a suitable sports tourer if possible. Preferably a restricted bike that I can de-restrict when I'm ready.

Am I right in saying that the Hyosung GT650S is about the only bike on the NSW list that fits that description?
  2. There's always the Honda Deauville (NTV) 650.
    It's not restricted though, just heavy (and therefore under the power/weight limit). Far better suited to touring than a Hyo though.
  3. The trouble is the new Deauville is a 700 pushing it out of LAMS...

But the old is a good bet and unlike the hyo will actually get you to your destination...
  4. True, but we're still yet to see if the Victorian system will have a capacity limit - or if it has the ability to apply for a bike to be included which may allow the 700 onto the list (I don't think it's power/weight is all that different to the 650 version).
  5. Bikes on the lams list that are decent sports tourers are a bit thin on the ground.

The Hyosung 650 and the Deauville have already been mentioned, another that works well for light touring is the full faired version of the GS500.

It can be fitted with a ventura rack and a tank bag and makes an excellent 1 up tourer.

If you're going to be touring with a pillion I'd go for the Deauville, it's heavier and it's got more room.

Neither of those need to be restricted to meet the limit btw.