Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

LAMS bike for tall rider

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by jrock, Jun 20, 2011.

1. Hey all,

I'm a newbie and have been reading this forum for a while now but this is my first post. I know this has been asked before but given new models etc. thought I'd ask again.

I'm doing my Qride course this weekend and am very keen to buy my first bike soon after.

Have been looking around for months and was pretty keen on a VTR250. Only trouble is I'm 6"5 and 100kgs and when I sat on one it was uncomfortable. Also most people seem to agree it won't be powerful enough for someone my size.

So... looking for reccommendations for a naked style LAMS bike around $5k - $6k that would suit a large rider. Will be used for short commutes to work daily and the occassional weekend ride.

I'll be looking to keep it for at least 3 or 4 years so I want something I won't get bored with. A salesman tried to sell me a GS500 on the weekend but they just don't do it for me. Considering a 2010 Hyosung GT650 but concerned about their reputation for being rubbish.

Any help or suggestions greatly appreciated.

2. KLR650 or DR650

Ok the KLR is not really naked but comfort is more important than look to me YMMV. Both can be had a couple of years old for your budget