Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Lams bike for short bloke.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by pez2011, Jun 19, 2011.

1. Hi. Im on my L's about to take P's on a scooter but want to get a light 250cc ish bike second hand for no more than $3k. Im a small bloke who is only 5'5" tall and not overly strong, so would struggle picking up a 160kg+ bike. Cant decide on style lol so all recommendations please.

2. #2 bulby, Jun 20, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 13, 2015
    Heys. I'm a newbie myself, so I can't really say if [URL="]this[/URL] will work when you need to pick up a heavy bike. But it does look plausible / doable =]
  3. Hi Pez,

When i did my learner course, the shorter riders were on a honda cb250.

That's just one example that fits your criteria of seat height and price.

I wouldn't rule a bike out because you couldn't pick it up!
  4. Here in NSW the training courses are done on cb250's. Girls taking their pre learners are fine with riding them.

I've got to mention my 'stay upright' instructor at the time was well over 6 feet, and weigh well over 100kg's, and he too was fine with the CB's.
  5. bloke i work with is about 3foot7 in platforms and rides a suzi across
    *that's an exaggeration, he's maybe 5foot flat
  6. Try a VTR250 maybe? If its still a bit tall, you could have the seat shaved down a few inches. Mine doesnt feel all too heavy and reckon i could pick it up quite easy if i was to drop it.
  7. + 1 for the VTR or Spada... both are really light and easy to throw around.
  8. CBR125 cant get much smaller than that
  9. as suggested you can always get a seat modified, or the rear spring customised, on pretty-well any bike....