Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Ladies: what bike do you ride and why?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Daisyhaze, Jan 26, 2009.

1. Hi, sorry if this has been done before but I am new here, and would love to find out what other ladies ride. Why did you choose the bike you have? What type of riding/how much riding do you do? How did you get into riding? Would love to hear your stories :)

2. Hi there. Welcome to Netrider.

I ride an Aprilia 200cc Sportcity (so it's a scooter, not a bike), but I love it and love riding. I started riding 18 months ago. Got my Ls aged 57, after a year of riding pillion with my husband. Both my sons, and my daughter in law elect also ride and I guess I saw how much fun they were all having and wanted to join in. Am now totally addicted. Don't have a car anymore and don't want one. Ride every day and in all weather (and ATGATT). I ride all over Melbourne and go on longer rides when I have the time. Last one was to Daylesford just after Xmas. I have just clocked up 21,000 kms.

I adore my bike, although when I can afford to I want to upgrade to the 250cc or maybe the new 300cc that is supposed to be coming out this year. I guess I ride a scooter because I'm an arthritic old grandmother (!) and it's easier sitting on a scooter than crouching over a bike. Also I don't have to worry about gears and lubricating chains! There's only so many new tricks an old dog can learn. But I love it and intend to ride till I'm 90. By then I will probably have to graduate to 3 wheels because I'll be too decrepit to hold up two. That should then take me through till I'm 100.

Enjoy your riding! :)
  3. WHAT BIKE: The one that shakes and vibrates the most

WHY: Do you have to ask.