Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Ladies wearing men's leathers

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by Roar2Life, Dec 5, 2006.

1. Hey, Seen it seems it's unanimous (sp?) <as I would have thought> that leathers are more protective than textiles, i'm starting to look at leather suits and the like and have noticed that a lot of the time the guys version is cheaper. In actual fact I can't even find a women's suit by Rjays and Alpinestars seems really expensive. I know you get what you pay for but being a high school student I don't have the biggest budget (not that I plan to skimp on protective gear). Obviously there's one area where women need a bit more room but are there any ladies out there that ride in guys leathers? And if so, how do they fit?

2. A lot of apparel is designed to be unisex however take note is that each manufacturer and/or county has a different scale of measurements for sizing so tags and numbers can be confusing as it isnt standardised on a "worldwide" scale.

There are a few manufacturers like Joe Rocket & Ixon etc that are now increasing their range of ladies leathers with some nice looking feminine styles & colours but sizes and prices could be a factor.

If its racing leathers you are after, I really only have seen women wearing custom made suits or ones mainly designed for guys, however recently spotted some womens ones by hardwick racing on Ebay http://tinyurl.com/ta25a

Either way, the only way for you to know what suits you is to try stuff on to see if it fits, if you like it and if its within your budget.