Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

L Plater - Feel like I am 16 again!!

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by TigerRider, Apr 24, 2009.

1. Gday Guys,

Just thought I would say a quick hello and introduce myself. Have read lots of threads on here and learnt a huge amount but figured why just read when I can get involved myself!

So I am new to the world of netrider and to the world of motorbikes. Got my L plates a few weeks ago and have been on the road for 1 week. Never sat on a motorbike before doing the L’s course. Can’t believe how much I have learnt in the last week though out riding on my own!! Massive learning curve but my brain is soaking it all in! Began just rolling around the quiet local streets in my suburb and have very gradually increased it each night and now feel pretty confident at 70K’s on main-ish roads near my place. Am being super cautious out on the roads but am conscious of not being too cautious / slow as that can be as dangerous as excessive speed I reckon. Just being careful, staying out of people’s way and improving my skills every single ride.

I have a new CBF250. I know it is not the favourite choice of those learned types about here but it suited me. I didn’t know nearly enough about bikes to know what to look for in a second hand bike and felt more confident starting on something I knew was safe and ready to go. I was / am also keen to learn on a super basic bike with no frills so as I can master the fundamentals before ABS or fuel injection, etc worries about the finer points for me. Nice and cheap (for a new bike) and I am sure I will know 1000% more than I do now when it comes time to buy my second bike in 18 or so months time.