Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Knowing where the 'edge' is...

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Pugsly, May 16, 2013.

1. I've been riding nearly two weeks now. Learning lots, riding my own ride and enjoying it. First commute in was today, in the drizzle.

I've been driving for 20 years, have owned a few cars including a Torana, an Impreza, an MX5, a Jeep and a Kluger. In that time I've done some driving training, a little track work and some fairly aggressive driving in a variety of conditions. I'm no expert, but to some degree I've learnt how to read the car, to know when things are about to break loose, and how to control it after the fact.

Now, whilst I'm not wanting to quadruple the indicated speed on corners, or 200 clicks lane splitting down the the Monash on the back wheel, I am looking to understand how to read the bike when it's being pushed to hard around a corner etc.

I expect I'm like most learners where I'm probably over cautious on the corners and want to improve.

So what are the telltales that you're going too hard, is there any transition area between ok and oh-shit, and is there much opportunity for recovery? For instance, depending on the type and condition of tyres, you will get a reasonable amount of squeal out of car tyres when cornering before they let go.

I wouldn't ask this question for a car. I'd get in the car and just try it somewhere open. Worst case, the car slides a little and I drive on. On the bike, well, it can get expensive and painful.
  2. Ride at 80%. It leaves you a margin of error. As you ride more, and become more experienced, your skill level increases - so while you are still riding at 80% you are actually riding faster than before.