Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Knowing when you're ready to go for your P's?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Canberrastar, Jul 20, 2015.

1. I've been riding on my L's for around four months now, and I'm starting to wonder when the right time to go for my P's might be? I've got around 1200km on the bike, and I've tried to mix things up as much as I can to get experience: hills, freeways, city, country, raffic, etc. Plus the inevitable hard braking and low speed manoeuvring work.

In in the ACT, and Stay Upright used to run a practice course so you could get some supervised time before the big test. But now they don't seem to be scheduling it, so I'm sort of having to guess whether I've developed enough.

So yeah, how did you guys work out when you were ready to take the test day?
  2. Practice, practice and then some more practice.

I borrowed some witches hats from my soccer club and laid out the test course in an empty car park. When I was confident I booked in for my P's. (note when I did mine if you were over 30 and had a 'gold' drivers licence you didn't need to wait 3 months and went from L's to full riders licence, I was on my L's for less than 3 months).
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. I haven't done mine yet but will be going for it within the next 5-6 months.
    If it helps, watch some videos of the actual test so you know what to expect. I'm going to do mine with Armstrong's here in Melbourne (same place where I got my Ls). Here's a link to a video of what to expect in the licence test:

4. LayzieLayzie . OP is in Canberra, Your video wont help him much.