Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

KLE500 - KLR650

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by daewoo, Jan 22, 2008.

1. I have no idea about Kawasaki bikes... In my search for a Japanese equivalent of a BMW F650GS Dakar, about the closest I have some are these two...

Are Kawasaki bikes OK... comparable to Honda for instance??? Reliable??? Equivalent resale value???

I guess it is hard to compare a 650 single with a 500 twin, but, am I going to miss the 150cc for touring with the missus on the back??? 70% sealed, 30% good dirt roads???

I have little experience with biggish bikes, and am looking for something I can squeeze through the traffic Mon - Fri, and go exploring on weekends???

As usual in my endless search for a good, japanese, dirt orientated dual-sport, all comments appreciated...

2. If you have a look at the advrider.com forums there are HEAPS of people with KLR650s used for varying degrees of touring on and off the road. Well worth having a look there...
  3. I've been a member on ADV for a while, but never noticed the KLRs on there...

I had looked at them before, but passed them over because I don't know what Kawasaki bikes are like...

I was at the local beach this afternoon, and there was a guy there photographing one for a magazine article ( http://www.offroadexplorer.com.au/ ) and made me think that they looked to be exactly what I have been searching for...

Thanks for your reply,
  4. No direct experience, but a mate had a KLE years ago. Reckoned with sticky tyres it was the biz on really tight twisties, but that it really wasn't a dirt bike.
  5. SOunds like you should be looking at KLR 650 Tengai's.

Regards, Andrew.