Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Kit advice

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by Vintagegirl2010, Mar 18, 2010.

1. Advice needed!! I'm a newbie rider and wanting to get hold of a good leather riding jacket with safety features, I don't want to lose my skin. It has to look good too! Also any advice on helmets, I want a new one, the one I've got is probably very safe but so huge and heavy. cheers !

2. bikebiz
    bike gear warehouse

all online sales, have a browse, alpinestars are the number 1 jacket everyone is buying
  3. Thanks. I'll definitely check it out.
  4. Online is usually cheaper, but you must NOT buy leather gear without trying it on, and then preferably sitting on the bike in the correct riding position. It's the only way you can tell if it is going to fit properly in the real world. They all look shiny-shiny in the shop, but...
  5. Shark helmets are very light ! just bought a Shark RSi - love it
  6. You say it must look good. That's obviously subjective; but given your interest in 'everything vintage', classic bikes and rockabilly, I'm going to go out on a limb and say you won't like the look of most mainstream gear.

I think your best bet will be Walden Miller. http://www.waldenmiller.com.au/about.html, unless you can find some second hand gear on ebay or elsewhere.

Have you thought about other gear? Pants, boots, gloves

Regarding the helmet: they all feel big and heavy if you're not used to wearing one. The more expensive ones tend to be lighter though, and if you have a really small head then a 'youth size' helmet might be better.
  7. Have you already got your other gear sorted out and just need to buy a helmet and jacket ? Reason I ask is that the jacket and helmet is only one part of the picture.