Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Kevlar or cordura jacket?

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' at netrider.net.au started by Josheos, Sep 12, 2015.

1. I'm new to riding and am looking at a jacket, having a little look on eBay I'm tossing up between 2 potential jackets, one is a Kevlar hoodie style one and the other is your typical cordura road bike jacket, which one would be more safer for me to wear?

Kevlar
    http://ebay.to/1UHojBy

Cordura
    http://ebay.to/1ortKmK

I like the Kevlar one as it's more casual, I ride mostly commuting and running erands etc so it's not as full on as the traditional cordura jacket. Not sure which one would protect me more in a crash though

2. steer clear of eBay and buy something you are less likely to die in... would you trust an eBay special with your body parts?

Dririder Air-Ride 3 Black Jacket

Hoodies are too loose, so the armour moves about and ends up not where you need it in an off. When I want to look cool and casual, I just put my hoodie over the top of my jacket.

• Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  3.  Top
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. My 2c. Best to try your jacket on to ensure it fits first. Check that CE armour sits right. If it is a short jacket, see if that would expose your lower back. What sort of a bike are you riding?

5. Try before you buy. Move arms qnd bend overas if youtron a bike. Feel for comfort but snug fit

6. Just a little vtr250, fairly upright seating position

7. I got a cheapo leather eBay jacket, and it's survived well through a few crashes.

Kevlar hoodies are useless when you come off, they just ride up and expose skin

• Like Like x 1