Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

KBC VR-1 / VR-2

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' at netrider.net.au started by cam77, Dec 29, 2005.

1. Anyone with experience with these helmets?? What did you think of them?

Just bought a VR-2 today, seems to fit my noggin quite nicely (Maybe ask me what I think in a month!)

Tried on the Shoei, Arai models, the VR-2 genuinely felt better so I made the executive decision to forgo the composite for a fibreglass and save a few $$ for a better jacket

People say the VR1 was noisy. Personally I am new to riding and the noise is one thing I look forward to!

2. I've always ridden in Shoei helmets - until I had to replace my RF-800 earlier this year.

I tried on heaps of helmets - from all different available manufacturers, including of course Shoei, which would have been my intitial preference.

The fit of the Shoei's has changed since the RF-800, which was really lovely, cumfy and quiet - the current generation just wasn't comfortable for me at all :(

Price wasn't really an issue, and I was happy to spend up to a grand for a helmet that fit and felt comfortable.

I settled on a KBC VR-1, which was only around $300 from memory.

It was very comfortable in the shop, and on the whole still is.

It's pretty noisy though - far noisier than my RF-800 Shoei.

The removable liner isn't very stable, and I often have to push it back in place.

I also really dislike the earpad things that velcro in place. Without them the helmet is REALLY noisy. With them in place, they move upwards when putting the helmet on, and every time I put on the helmet I've got to push a couple of fingers up to my ears on each side to get the ear pad back in place.