Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Kawasaki ZZR250 acceleration problem.

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by ddhanu, Dec 13, 2005.

1. Hello guys,

I am just a newbie to the world or motorbike. I need help with my Kawasaki ZZR250. I just bought it second hand about 3 weeks ago. I feel that the bike cannot accelerate as quick. After I stopped on the light, I needed to swith up to 3rd gear to get to 60 kph. When I am on the 2nd gear, the rev is started to slow down on 8000. Basically on the 2nd gear, I cannot go more than 40kph.
    Is this normal? Is there might be a problem with the engine? Or probably need some tuning.
    Please help.
  2. Have you put fuel in it since buying it? :LOL:
  3. clutch adjustment problem?
    it might have worked loose- this is what my bike did when clutch leaver had worked itself a bit loose.
  4. yeah it should do closer to 60km/hr in second then close to 90 km/hr in 3rd, if i remember correctly
  5. If you haven't already done it, remove and clean air filter, you'll find it under the seat near the base of the fueltank and next to the battery. You will have to undo the two bolts securing the tank and lift the tank slightly, but you will be suprised how much better they go when they can breath.
  6. It's not a great description but I will ask this one? Had you given your new baby a wash just before this started. A spray of WD-40 on the pugs or a night in the shed will fix it if that's the case. Otherwise it could be all manner of things and you'll need to give a detailed description of what actually happens. :)
  7. It's a tautology isn't it?

8. It might be the fuel... When I first had my zzr similar thing happened to me...

We found out that the fuel hose had a kink in it