Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Kawasaki Z300 vs Honda CBR250R

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Mike Tranter, Feb 26, 2016.

1. Hi,

I'm new to riding, and looking to buy my first bike.

I've narrowed it down to either the Kawasaki Z300 or the Honda CBR250R.

I was wondering whether anyone has any key reasons for either?

Most importantly, which is cheaper to own, in terms of maintenance and parts?

2. Welcome mate. First question is - have you ridden either yet? If not that may help make up your mind.

Also, you have a naked Kwacka vs a fully faired Honda. So which style do you prefer? If its fairings then you should look at the Ninja 300 rather than the Z.
  3. Even if you don't feel confident to test ride, go and sit on both and see which one feels better for you
  4. This is one thing I struggled with as a newbie, and still do. Test riding bikes when you don't have experience is a daunting task! I don't know the answer but I assume dealerships are covered insurance wise so it should in theory relieve some of the stress of riding a bike you're not familiar with while having little to no experience riding at all.
  5. Thanks for the replies.

Nope, haven't ridden either yet. As two40 says, I'm a bit worried because I wouldn't feel confident riding on a road. I'll take your advice and go and have a look anyway though.

As for the look, I much prefer naked, but am considering the Honda because its cheap (all I want is a cheap bike with ABS).
  6. Go sit and feel how the ergo's work for you. Some bikes may have footpegs in the wrong position, etc, and can be excluded reasonably quickly.
    What sort of budget you looking at?
  7. Will do, any recommendation for a place to go in Melbourne?