Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Kawasaki 250R aka ZX-2R?

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by S>Shift, Oct 5, 2010.

1. I found it curious while browsing for a first bike at a dealership recently, that they listed what I've always been told is called the 250R, or EX250, as the "ZX-2R".

I apparently threw one of the salesman off by even referring to it as a 250R, and I was then assured that it is the same bike by another staff member.

There's not much of anything about it already online from what I can tell, unfortunately, so I'm hoping someone here could clarify just what's going on for me - as I'm really very new to bikes and can do with all the help I can get.

2. Welcome. Kawa branding is confusing as it’s different in America. EX250 was the American name for the Australian gpx250, now I think the name’s also used (in America) for the new Australian ninja 250. Not sure about the zx-2r vs 250r. It could be just another Japanese and Australian vs American branding thing. I think I remember something to do with 1 front disk vs 2 front disks on some of the models. You’re probably more confused now lol.
  3. Someone more knowledgable than me may know better, but I always thought the ZX2R was a grey import, not an official Australian model.
  4. ZX-2R is an inline 4cylinder high revving sportsbike. They dont make these anymore and haven't for a long while.

Ninja250r/ex250/gpx250/zzr250 are 2cylinder ptwin entry level sport tourers.

Try hards and salesmen might call their 'ninja' 250 a zx2r, but its a completely different bike.