Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

just moved to melbourne

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by jez, Feb 21, 2005.

1. hi all, just recently moved down here from wodonga, being a learner rider finding it very scary, can someone give me some good areas to ride, to get used to tram trax etc etc :shock:

2. welcome mate

3. Hi and welcome. I'm new to riding (on the road) and seem to live near you? I'm mainly just riding around North Road, Bambra rd + Hawthorne Rd at moment. There isn't too much traffic and the streets are fairly wide. Send me a PM if you want to catch up and possibly go for a ride etc.

Hope you gain confidence quickly :)

4. Hi Jez! Welcome aboard!!

Riding pretty much anywhere in the metro area will give you experience with tramtracks.

Enjoy Melbourne, but take it easy til you get the hang of it!

:D :D :D

5. A wise idea is to experiment with tram tracks in the dry... and then treat them like ice when the roads are wet. I know a fair few riders (even experienced ones) that have come unstuck on tram tracks in and around Melbourne.

Other than that, welcome, and hope to see you on a few weekend rides. :D

6. Riding into a coffee night can be a challenge :) You should get someone to follow in to practice cobblestones, slow riding and pedestrian dodging :wink:

Not to mention you might hook up with a few people to ride with..or just have coffee! :)

7. How I got hold of the tram track situation was to ride along Chapel Street. The traffic is always really slow moving, so it gives you an opportunity to ride along in slow moving traffic and cross the lines slowly without feeling you are holding up traffic. :D

8. Hi Jez :)