Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

just got this request from the media, anyone?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by vic, May 10, 2007.

1. Hi Vic,

I work as a journalist covering the Eastern Suburbs of Sydney - including Kings Cross - and am working on a story about a police crackdown on biker gangs in the area.

I would like to approach the story from a different angle and show the other side by speaking to someone who is a part of that culture but goes against stereotypes or can comment on the discrimination bikers have to deal with.

I hope you can help - it would need to be someone from our area, and I would need to chat to them in the next few days to make our deadline.

I think it would be great if you could find someone who really goes against the grain of what people assume a biker/gang member is - to challenge the ideas and the fears many people have and to articulate what the culture is about etc etc.

2. interesting.... its a good sign that people (read: a person) have come to realize that owning a motorcycle is not a crime!
  3. wheres hornet600 when you need him :LOL:
  4. hornet's your man !
  5. i live in east subs Sydney... but i'm not a "biker"... i'm a rider :p... i'll be willing too have a chat lol
  6. How else will I ever be considered cool and tough if not by association with this stereotype through my love of bikes?! Perpetuate I say, perpetuate! :cool:
  7. + the 3 amigos for a contrast mix!
  8. I think its great that those "bikies" get a bad image, they are in fact quite bad!

I think you'll want to talk about generalising which is the problem that riders face.
  9. you serious ???
    tell him to have breakfast at the Mecca on King St, 10am Saturday morning !

I'll introduce him to a bike culture !