Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Just got my L's, now in need of some help :D

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by grey342, Dec 14, 2012.

1. I've just acquired my Learners Permit yesterday and am now ready to buy my first bike!

I'm a lightweight weighing about 60 kg standing at about 5 ft 6 or 7. I'm not sure if a 250 will be the best choice to gain confidence as of yet as they are quite a pain to move around (weight wise) and I have little experience only doing a beginners riding course and the actual test itself.

I know 125's are good but constantly hear the power is lacking (I'm sure they are capable of hills just personally as of yet I'd need to build confidence) and I live around quite a hilly area. So I'm not sure if a 125 or 250 will be better as of yet, my budgets about 3.5 grand, and my options are basically a cbr 125, cbr 250rr, and a yamaha yzf r125. <--- sporty bikes fully faired is what I'm trying to go for... lol

Any advice would be awesome I really need some help with this one. D:
  2. Got any mates with bikes?
    Probably help if you could get on one in a car park and putt around and see how they feel.
    Did you have to ride a bike at the L's course, if so what was it and how did you feel on it?
  3. where do you live? take my f'n bike for near half your budget?

alternatively cut your hair - that will surely instill more confidence.

but you are right on the money...don't get a 125 mate ...yeah you maybe nervous but the 250's are fine and still very forgiving....i started out on a gpx 250 and i'm about the same build as you (with fcuk all motorbike experience in my past)