Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Just did my first coolant flush this arvo.

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' started by AznCruiser, Oct 13, 2012.

2. Nice Vid
  3. Thanks dude, im just learning these things too, and used Yuutube videos to help me do general maintenance, save some money, and get my hands dirty......................

All bikes would have different parts and different locations of bolts..........but hopefully the general gist of things comes across in the video. Coolant flush isnt too difficult and something everyone should be able to do.................

One thing I forgot to mention in the video is "burping the hose" (I think thats what people call it)............its basically just squeezing the hose, and letting air pockets out of the kinks.
  4. lol and hope it doesn't blow chunks off the inside of the hose into a cooling passage if its an old bike..... my preferred method is to give the bike a rev to get the water flow to drag any air out... let it settle to de-airate .. and retop it up.

taking it for a SHORT spin works well cause bumps and corners help get all the air out but i stress short... cause air in the system can cause overflow/boiloing/overheating issues.

i'm not trying to sound like a know all punk, the burping thing works well, but if your hoses are OLD then it's worth being aware of the risks.
  5. This thread reminds me of the Hyosung parked at uni that decided to do a coolant flush all over itself in the carpark
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Damn those Hyos and their automated coolant flushes lol :)........or maybe you mistook the coolant pool, when it really came out of the over flow bottle :)......