Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Journey from newbie to intermediate

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Ness_, Jan 8, 2014.

1. I've been blogging my thoughts in a Word doc on my laptop, I wanted to use the blog feature here on NR but I don't have access to that area until I've been around a lot longer.

So I thought I'd post my blog up here, if anyone is interested in reading it, then great! If anyone wants to reply or comment, that's cool too. But if nobody reads or replies, that's also fine, I'm just wanting to keep my newbie thoughts all in one place :)

Bear with me, I have 2 weeks of blogs to post first up, and a couple of them (the 2 x Q-Ride ones) are looooooong. They'll slow down after this I promise! As a newbie, I wish I had been able to read more about the Q-Ride process so I hope they help someone...

Sat 16 Nov - Pillion rides are fun, but I bet I know what’d be more fun...

I’m on holiday overseas. I’m at my godparent’s house having a few days R&R. We decide to go to a summer fair being held in my mum’s old primary school. The night before, while discussing the logistics of getting the whole family there, my godfather says “I think I’ll take the bike, then you guys will all fit in the one car”... it’s 10pm, I’ve had a few wines, I’m feeling brave, my eyes lit up. “You have a bike?” so next comes the invite... “Sure... you want to come on it with me?”

Next morning dawns, he kits me up in leathers and helmet, tells me to lean whichever way he leans, not to move my legs off the pillion pegs, and to hold on tight. And we’re off!