Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

I've been brainwashed - please help!

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by moog, Nov 21, 2007.

1. I've been riding bikes for about 15 years (since I was a kid) but not much on the road.

So i made a choice about which bike I wanted, paid it off and got my L's. On Monday this week I picked up my bike (which is an 08 VSTAR CUSTOM 650) I had previously bought all my gear. (Boots, kevlar jeans, jacket with armour, full face helmet and best gloves I could buy)

So I turned up at the bike shop - did all the paperwork and rode off home.

But I just couldn't really enjoy myself - after all this wait there is a niggling little voice in my head about getting hit by a car. Every street, every car that changes lanes I'm setting up just in case and after a while (as a newbie) you just start to freak out about all the dangers.

Everyone has been saying to me "Oh no you got a bike?"

I'd spoken with my wife about getting a bike and she seemed OK about it. But I went for a ride last night and she said that she was worried sick while I was gone and she said that now every time I leave the house she knows it may be the last time she ever sees me so she tells me she loves me.

I mean talk about drama - and it messes with my head.

Is it justified? Are we gonna die on our bikes?

So now I've got myself into this state of mind where riding is totally dangerous.

I spoke to my brother about it, who is an experienced rider, and he said that it's good that I feel that way because it will keep me safe.

Maybe the feeling wear of a bit - I have only been riding on the road for 2 days now.

But riding has been really tiring because I'm just so hyper alert and brainwashed into thinking that maybe I won't make it home.