Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Italian Vespa

Discussion in 'Businesses and Service Providers' started by salva, Dec 28, 2007.

1. Hi guys
    Im relatively new in this web, to be exact just 30 sec.
    and so i need a little help from you out there, I have been to Italy recently,from my unkle i have been given an old Italian Vespa 50 ccm.
    All in parts! So i send it to Australia....im planing to restor it my self (which i previously used to do for friends)....I have heared that with a simple car license you should be able to drive 50ccm in australia aswell,so til here is al goood....
    THE PROBLEM IS GETTING THE SCOOTER REGISTERED!!!!.....i have seen driving a similar model in Sydney, and i thought that it might easy but from reading the net i got a little confused.....do i need to install blinker on my old model?...i feel that it would dammage the estetic of my Vespa!!!....can i prevent it?
    By the way Its a Vespa Special 50 ccm. They are very hot in Italy to becouse they are hard to find....especialy in good condition.
    so please if anyone knows anything, let me know what the options are.
    thanks Salva :(

2. Hey Salva and welcome,

You first need to go to the bottom of this page and check the Forums Terms & Conditions for posting. One of the first tips you'll get is to post first in the Welcome Lounge and to fill in your profile. That way we will know which state you are in, as laws changes from state to state..

Now i presume you are in sydney, so have a look at these links:

good luck!!!
  3. What year is it?

There are different registration requirements which depend on the year the bike was made. If it was made after 1980 or so, and does not have a compliance plate, then you will have expensive problems.