Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Issue with leaning to the right

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Taff 69, Mar 9, 2016.

1. I've been riding for around 18 months now and have a nagging issue that bugs the hell out of me. Why is it that I have a problem taking right turns or drifting out on a right turn on a roundabout ?? I have absolutely no problems with left turns at all. I'm right handed in day to day life and am beginning to wonder does that have something to do with the problem. Has anyone else had this problem or have any solutions as to how to fix this for me? Cheers.

2. is your bum centred on the seat? are you dropping one shoulder?
    you might feel all symmetrical, but probably not :D subtle changes in position can make left or right feel easier
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Or you may be counter steering less naturally than to the left as you're not pushing the right bar forward as much due to it being the throttle hand. Try and actively push forward in next set of rights and see if that improves it.
  4. We also favour one eye. Do you look far enough to the right? If you favour your right, do you use your peripheral vision looking right rather than turning to focus right?
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Practise, practise, practise. It's not uncommon to have a preferred turn direction.
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  6. As far as I know I'm centred. I'll have a check next time. Cheers
  7. Also most roads have a camber which means your abi,try to lean right is more limited than to left.

Almost everyone turns one way better than the other and the majority seem to be better turning left.
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Will do. It's bloody frustrating but I'll try next trip. Cheers mate.