Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Isn't it always the way?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by typhoon, Dec 11, 2005.

1. Got my L's last Monday so I rode the bike home from work( is it always scary going 80km/h when you are a new rider..well, not scary, but lots of concentration?) where I had been storing it. Tuesday looks like rain, so being a complete novice, leave bike at home. During the week my shoulder/upper back/ elbow repetitive strain injury starts to flare up, and by the weekend I am flat out holding my head up.
    So, now I have a registered bike and a licence to ride it, but have done like 15km in a week!
    Such is life!

Regards, Andrew.
  2. jeebuz, my first week was more like 1500kms :LOL:

stop being a blouse and get out there and enjoy being a rider. i'm sure you didn't get a z650 to save money on fuel, go and enjoy yourself :wink:
  3. I remember my first ride... only a few years ago... from brighton Yamaha [no longer there] to home.

They had a brilliant low k's GPX250... I got the train over from Altona... walked to the bike shop, paids me money... then rode it all the way back through peak hour brighton road, westgate bridge and west gate freeway traffic, in the dusk... and in highish winds... YIIIIIKKKEEESSS!!!!!

What a thrill ride.

I was sooooo stiff for days from the clenching of muscles....

Now it's a whole other story! Did a 400km ride on the weekend... almost fell asleep! :D

Welcome to the club ty.

Get in as many k's as you can. Get in as many skills courses as you can afford. And get on top of your roadcraft. ANd don't avoid the wet everytime... it's part of the initiation!! [BTW, practice your emergency braking drills in the wet from time to time... it'll save your life.]