Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Is this an online scam?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Ghibli, Dec 14, 2008.

1. Hi guys
    I am selling my bike online for $4,200. Just receiced this message yesterday.

Enquiry ID: 175189
    Date: Sun Dec 14 06:49:03 EST 2008

Name: Neill
    Postcode: 5013
    Mobile Phone: 0463747342
    Home Phone:
    Work Phone: 0884657353
    Email: neill19877@hotmail.co.uk
    Comments: I just need to tell you that this is a very lovely bike you have gotten here and I am interested in buying it outrightly.For a quick sale, I will pay you 5000.00aud for it. I was planning going on physically to purchase the bike but could not due to the nature of my work as i am always on the move cos I am a marine engineer and I work with an International shipping company.the bike will be picked up at your location by my pick up agent I will be paying with my paypal account.so please do reply me asap with your paypal account or send me a payment request from your paypal account so i can effect payment to you rightaway. I await your reply
    NB:Honestly, I do not know the actual worth of this item because I?m always busy sailing. If my offer is not ok, Let me know so i can shoot up abit or bring it down as the case maybe.
    Hope to hear from you soon.

What do you think?
  2. lol, great deal! Transact ASAP before he changes his mind.

Just in case...It is a scam
  3. sounds like a carbon copy of a message someone else posted a while ago. It is blatant bullshit to me by the sound of it
  4. Does "Neill" plan on riding it on the boat? He always busy sailing :LOL:

SHOW ME THE [​IMG] first I say
  5. Tell him it's a misprint and it should be $14.500.00

Yep, it's a scam.